The Daily Respite
The Daily Respite
October 1, 2020
25
0:00
-0:30

October 1, 2020

25

Good morning!

It’s Thursday, and it’s first day of October. This calls for a midweek nature break.

Today we’re sitting at the edge of a dock on Squam Lake in Holderness, New Hampshire.

This is the lake where I’ve been staying this week, teaching people what I’ve learned over the years about the process of writing your so-called story. Verlyn Klinkenborg describes the central purpose of writing as “to offer your testimony about the character of existence at this moment.” But here’s the crux: Before convincing the rest of the world that our testimony is worth listening to, we have to convince ourselves. Which is an ongoing process. This weekend I’ve seen the beginnings of some exquisite testimonies that I dearly hope will come to life. #futureauthorsofknitlandia #squamlove
September 14, 2019

I have an extra treat for you: After dark, the loons perform their night chorus. When I was there, I couldn’t go to sleep without recording some of it. Tap that little right-pointing triangle at the top of this email if you’d like to listen to 30 seconds of their serenade.

“I pray to the birds because they remind me of what I love rather than what I fear. And at the end of my prayers, they teach me how to listen.”
― Terry Tempest Williams

I’ll see you tomorrow,

Clara

25 Comments
The Daily Respite
The Daily Respite
Occasional audio files intended to bring you respite, grounding, and relaxation as part of The Daily Respite newsletter.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Clara Parkes
Recent Episodes