The Daily Respite
The Daily Respite
April 27, 2023
29
0:00
-1:00

April 27, 2023

29

Good morning!

It’s Thursday. Yesterday morning I headed outside to feed the birds, as I always do—although who am I kidding, most of the seed gets stuffed under the house by the squirrels. Anyway, I’d taken only a few steps when I heard a sound that stopped me in my tracks. A sound as seasonally symbolic as the first spring peepers, but far more spine-tinglingly magical at its core. I heard my first hermit thrush of the year. Usually it sings alone, but yesterday it had a whole bird chorus keeping it company. (Tap the right-pointing triangle up top to listen.)

This is a fine time to revisit Mary Oliver’s poem, “In Our Woods, Sometimes a Rare Music.”

“Every spring
I hear the thrush singing
in the glowing woods
he is only passing through.
His voice is deep,
then he lifts it until it seems
to fall from the sky.
I am thrilled.
I am grateful.

Then, by the end of morning,
he's gone, nothing but silence
out of the tree
where he rested for a night.
And this I find acceptable.
Not enough is a poor life.
But too much is, well, too much.
Imagine Verdi or Mahler
every day, all day.
It would exhaust anyone.”

― Mary Oliver, A Thousand Mornings: Poems

Onwards,

Clara

29 Comments
The Daily Respite
The Daily Respite
Occasional audio files intended to bring you respite, grounding, and relaxation as part of The Daily Respite newsletter.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Clara Parkes
Recent Episodes